Search to find Stroke Care Champion

2022 Stroke Care Champion nominations open

Latest in Health

Nominate someone you feel has made a terrific contribution to making life better for the country's stroke community for an award.


The search is on to find the 2022 Stroke Care Champion - an award which celebrates exceptional dedication.

Nominations are open to health professionals and researchers who have worked tirelessly to make life better for Australia's stroke community.

Stroke Society of Australasia president Professor Bernard Yan said the Stroke Care Champion award was a wonderful way to recognise the incredible individuals across Australia who are making a difference in stroke prevention, treatment or care on a daily basis.

"Stroke is one of the country's greatest health challenges, it strikes people of all ages and can change lives in an instant," Prof Yan said.

"More than 27,400 Australians will experience stroke this year, that's one person every 19 minutes.

"Behind these numbers are real people. There are also countless health professionals doing all they can to help survivors of stroke and their families live well, and we want to shine a spotlight on those efforts."

The Stroke Care Champion Award is supported by the Stroke Society of Australasia in conjunction with the Stroke Foundation. Nominees will need to have demonstrated a long-term commitment to stroke for at least five years.

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer Sharon McGowan encouraged people to nominate their peers or colleagues who have worked tirelessly to ease the burden of stroke across the country and inspire others to follow in their footsteps.

"Their expertise, commitment and leadership are instrumental in improving outcomes for people with stroke both now and well into the future," Ms McGowan said.

Past nominees and winners for the Stroke Care Champion Award have included neurologists, stroke nurses, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, speech therapists and researchers.

Nominations close on July 1. The winner will be announced at the 31st Annual Scientific Meeting of the Stroke Society of Australasia in Christchurch in August.

Nominations can be made here.