Restrictions tighten across the globe for Australian travellers

Australian travellers face tighter restrictions in Europe, US advises against travel

National News

US advises citizens against travel to Australia.


Thinking about heading overseas or hoping relatives can come for a visit?

It might pay to check the rules as country's around the world move to tighten restrictions against Australia as Omicron surges.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has advised against travel to Australia, along with 21 other nations due to the rising number of COVID-19 cases.

The CDC elevated its travel recommendation to "Level Four: Very High", telling Americans they should avoid travel to destinations including Australia, Israel, Egypt, Albania, Argentina, Uruguay, the Bahamas and Bahrain.

In total, the CDC now lists just more than 100 countries and territories at Level Four.

Photo: File

Photo: File

Meanwhile, the European Union has moved to tighten travel rules for unvaccinated arrivals from Australia.

The 27 EU member states reached an agreement on Monday to remove Australia, Argentina and Canada from a list of countries for whom easier travel restrictions applied to citizens regardless of vaccination status.


Australia is no longer among the ranks approved for freer travel that include New Zealand, Bahrain, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates and Uruguay.

Fully vaccinated travellers with vaccines authorised by the European Medicines Agency should be able to enter the EU for any purpose.