Powerful voice for women of the bush

Wednesday, 11th October, 2017

DYNAMIC TEAM  – The National Rural Women’s Coalition (from left), Rechelle Leahy (seated), Dr Kim Webber, Hannah Wandel, Sarah Parker, Alwyn Friedersdorff, Leonie Noble and Dorothy Coombe (seated).

TASMANIA'S Alwyn Friedersdorff has been re-elected president of the National Rural Women’s Coalition for 2017-18.

The Wynyard resident said the coalition would continue to deliver a powerful national voice for rural, regional and remote Australian women.

“Each member of our board is a leader in their own right, collaborating to deliver innovative projects, influence policy and decision-making,” she said. “They’re a dynamic, responsive and responsible team.”

The board comprises vice-president Leonie Noble (Geraldton, WA), treasurer Dorothy Coombe (Ringwood, Vic), company secretary Sarah Parker (Undera, Vic); directors Lisa Shipley  (Tamworth, NSW), Hannah Wandel (Canberra, ACT), Dr Kim Webber (Sydney, NSW) and Rechelle Leahy (Armidale, NSW). Keli McDonald (Gunnedah, NSW) will become chief executive after four years as finance officer.

Ms Friedersdorff said the organisation will run more than 20 projects to engage, inform, collaborate and build capacity for rural, regional and remote women and their communities, starting with Women of Influence.

The Women of Influence group encompasses women from rural, regional and remote areas. All have diverse backgrounds, ages and interests and are “achieving amazing things for women, for community and for Australia”.

Related Articles

Related Article

Related Article

Related Article